. . .

Nepali Congress elects 25 CWC members from open category

Nepali Congress leaders (from left) Prakash Man Singh, Shekhar Koirala and Khum Bahadur Khadka. Photos: RSS/ THT
Nepali Congress leaders (from left) Prakash Man Singh, Shekhar Koirala and Khum Bahadur Khadka. Photos: RSS/ THT

KATHMANDU:  The Election Committee of Nepali Congress (NC) has announced the names of 25 candidates who have won the Central Working Committee membership under the open category, on Monday.

Among the 3,148 votes, Shekhar Koirala polled the highest of 1,848 votes, followed by Khum Bahadur Khadka (1,846) and Prakash Man Singh (1,795), as informed by the the NC Election Committee.

A total of  90 candidates had filed their candidacy in the election for the posts in the Central Working Committee (CWC) held on March 6.

The party has already elected Sher Bahadur Deuba as its new President, Shashanka Koirala as its General Secretary and Sita Devi Yadav as its Treasurer in the election held during the party’s 13th General Convention.

Apart from this, results for the 14 posts from the provincial representation are yet to be announced. The results are expected to be published by this evening.

The party has already elected 22 CWC members including one from Muslim reservation, six from women reservation and five from Janajati, Madhesi and Dalit groups each.

Votes obtained by the newly elected 25 CWC members under open category are as folllows:

Dr.Shekhar Koirala 1848
Khum Bahadur Khadka 1846
Prakashman Singh 1795
Kul Bahadur (KB) Gurung 1773
Pradip Giri 1725
Padip Paudel 1712
Balkrishna Khand 1704
Dhanraj Gurung 1697
Ramesh Lekhak 1689
Purna Bahadur Khadka 1646
Bimalendra 1677
Bal Bahadur KC 1673
Mahesh Acharya 1669
Bishwo Prakash Sharma 1620
Sujata Koirala 1619
Dr. Ram Sharan Mahat 1611
NP Saud 1547
Shankar Bhandari 1547
Gyanendra Bahadur Karki 1502
Gopal Man Shrestha 1499
Chandra Bhandari 1493
Dr. Prakash Sharan Mahat 1491
Badri Pandey 1485
Dr. Narayan Khadka 1464
Dr. Minendra Rijal 1420


VN:F [1.9.20_1166]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

48,670 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress