mapKATHMANDU:   Special committee revises federalism model, agrees to adopt seven-state. Top leaders of major political parties on Friday agreed to federate the country into seven provinces. After a meeting of top leaders, the Constitution Drafting Committee forwarded the constitution bill with state demarcation to Constituent Assembly (CA) Chairman Subash Nembang.

A meeting of the special committee under Political Dialogue and Consensus Committee (PDCC) revised the previously agreed six-state federal model and agreed to create a separate province in Karnali by including some Eastern districts of the region.

According to the PDCC Chairman and UCPN (Maoist) leader Baburam Bhattarai, the previously proposed provinces 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, will remain unchanged. He informed that the final demarcation of the provinces will be decided by the soon-to-be formed federal commission.

Earlier in the day, Madhesi Janadhikar Forum -Loktantrik (MJF-L) Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar, one of the signatories of the 16-point agreement on constitution drafting, boycotted the meeting of four parties expressing his dissatisfaction with the new proposal.

Earlier, the parties had decided to adopt six-state model which sparked widespread protests across the country especially in the Mid- and Far-Western region of the region. Karnali locals were staging demonstration demanding a separate province be created.

However, Prime Minister Sushil Koirala was not in favour of delineating the country into seven states.


VN:F [1.9.20_1166]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
Parties agree to go for 7-province model, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *