Nepal won against Kenya in the Group A match of the World Cup T20 Qualifiers at ICC Global Cricket Academy in Dubai on Thursday. However, the game was still important for Nepal to hold on to its pride. Nepal’s hope of playing the T20 World Cup this year has already ended after a loss against Denmark.

Chasing a target of 140, Nepal clinched the match with two balls to spare. Nepal is already out of the title chase.

Shakti Gauchan appeals during qualifying match against Denmark

Electing to bat first, Kenyan batsman Collins Obuya scored 52 off 42 balls to take Kenya to 139 in the allotted 20 overs. Earlier, Kenyan openers Duncan Allan (32) and Alex Obanda (23) put on a great show for the first wicket before Basanta Regmi bowled Obanda.

Basanta Regmi was the pick of the bowlers taking three wickets in four overs. Sanjam Regmi was the only other bowler to take wicket as he grabbed the wicket of Duncan Allan.

Nepal started off with a blast as Anil Mandal and Pradeep Airee put on 64 for the first wicket. Airee scored 45 off 38 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. Supporting Airee, Mandal also smashed four boundaries. Nepal then lost few quick wickets as Gyanendra Malla (5), Mahboob Alam (5) and Prithu Baskota (7) were out cheaply. However, Skipper Paras Khadka scored a watchful 26 to guide the team to victory in the ultimate over.

James Ngoche grabbed three wickets for Kenya but failed to stop Nepal from cruising in to a comprehensive victory. Nehemiah Odhiambo and Nelson Odhiambo registered wicket apiece to their names.

Nepal was placed alongside Afghanistan, Canada, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Denmark, Papua New Guinea and Bermuda in Group A.

Likewise, Group B featured Namibia, Ireland, Italy, Uganda, Scotland, USA, Oman and Kenya.

The two teams that reach the finale after squaring off in the play-off would take part in the upcoming T20 World Cup being held at Sri Lanka in September.

VN:F [1.9.20_1166]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *